UW's Berggren named Naismith Award finalist


UW's Berggren named Naismith Award finalist

CREATED Feb 26, 2013

University of Wisconsin senior forward Jared Berggren has been selected as one of 30 finalists for the 2013 Naismith Award. The award is given annually to the college basketball player of the year.

Berggren has started all 27 games for the Badgers this season and leads the team in scoring (11.9 ppg) and ranks second in rebounding (7.0 rpg). Berggren is one of just three players to rank among the Big Ten’s top 20 scorers and top 10 rebounders.

With three more blocked shots, Berggren will surpass Rashard Griffith’s career blocks (124) record at Wisconsin,. On the season, Berggren ranks second in the Big Ten with 1.9 blocks per game.

This is the third year in a row that Wisconsin has had a player selected as one of 30 finalists for the award as Jon Leuer (2011) and Jordan Taylor (2012) were previously recognized, but neither won the award.

Ultimately, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will narrow down the list to four finalists. The Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year presented by AT&T will be awarded on April 7, 2013 in Atlanta.

The Badgers have had two players in school history be named a finalist for the award, Devin Harris in 2004 and Alando Tucker in 2007.