Facebook makes deceased members' profiles more accessible
Photo: Image by REUTERS
Facebook ihs made a policy change allowing "memorialized" profiles to be viewed by the entire list of "friends" the deceased user had before they died. "Facebook says it will maintain the visibility of a person's content as-is," reports ABC News.
Previously, Facebook decided to only let close friends and family members see the profile of the deceased party, and the 60-second automated "Look Back Video" was not accessible.
Facebook said the change "will allow people to see memorialized profiles in a manner consistent with the deceased person's expectations of privacy," further reports ABC News. "We are respecting the choices a person made in life while giving their extended community of family and friends ongoing visibility to the same content they could always see." The "Look Back Video" will also be an added feature to all accounts.
Friends and family, however, can also request the profile to be closed by filling out a Facebook form and providing proof of death, such as a link to an obituary.