Weather Alerts 1 View »

Hartland Arrowhead 45, Franklin 24

BENJAMIN WORGULL, The Associated Press

Photo: Video by

Hartland Arrowhead 45, Franklin 24

CREATED Nov. 22, 2013 - UPDATED: Nov. 22, 2013
MADISON, Wis. (AP) -- Johnny Duranso threw for 235 yards and three touchdowns as Hartland Arrowhead won its second consecutive WIAA Division 1 championship, beating Franklin 45-24 at Camp Randall Stadium.
The Warhawks (13-1) broke a 17-17 tie in the third quarter by scoring the game's next 28 points, including a 44-yard interception return by Charlie Reuteman. The touchdown stood despite the ball being fumbled out of the back of the end zone since instant replay is not used in Wisconsin high school football.
It was the sixth title for the Warhawks, tying Edgar and Lancaster for second-most in state history.
Sean McGuire threw for 250 yards and rushed nine times for 61 yards and a touchdown for Franklin (12-2), but was intercepted three times that led to 14 second-half points for the Warhawks.