Loading...

Newborn Surrendered At Fire Station Under 'Safe Haven Law'

  • Play
  • Play

Photo: Video by NewsChannel5.com

Newborn Surrendered At Fire Station Under 'Safe Haven Law'

CREATED Aug 27, 2014 - UPDATED: Aug 27, 2014

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - A newborn baby girl was surrendered at an east Nashville Fire Department station overnight, in accordance with the state's "Safe Haven Law."

The baby girl was found at the door of Fire Station 14 on Holly Street around 11 p.m. Tuesday.

Firefighters said they heard a knock at the door, and found the infant outside.

The child was taken to Monroe Carell Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt for a checkup. The baby was said to be uninjured and in good condition.

Nashville Fire Commander Charles Shannon said whoever dropped the baby off did the right thing.

"We're not negative toward whoever left the baby." he said. "We would much rather and prefer for someone to do that rather than put the child in an unsafe position."

The State Department of Children’s Services will now be handling the case. She'll go into state custody and likely a foster home.

Rob Johnson with the Tennessee Department of Children's Services said they're already prepared to make a positive difference in this little girl's life.

"We already have a big network of great resource parents that take in foster kids, and they're already approved as both foster parents and adoptive parents," he said.

Police are not investigating and the parent or parents who dropped off the baby will not face any charges.

Tennessee's Safe Haven Law allows parents to leave their baby at a hospital, birthing center, community health clinic or walk-in clinic, and 24 hour staffed police and fire stations anytime within the first three days after the child is born, with no questions asked.

As long as the baby has not been abused, the parent may leave the child without fear of arrest or prosecution.

Also, under the state's Safe Haven Law, a parent has the right to change their minds. The state has to publish public notices about the baby once a week for a month. That means a parent has 30 days to come forward and re-claim their baby.

For more information or directions to the nearest safe haven location, visit the Tennessee Safe Haven website or call the Safe Haven Hotline at 1-888-510-BABY.

Secret Safe Place of Tennessee said 76 newborns have been dropped off since the law was enacted in 2001.