Burgess Wins Republican Primary In Rutherford County

  • Play

Photo: Video by NewsChannel5.com

Burgess Wins Republican Primary In Rutherford County

CREATED May 6, 2014
MURFREESBORO, Tenn. – Mayor Ernest Burgess has won the Republican Primary in Rutherford County. 

Several candidates hosted election watch parties in Murfreesboro throughout the evening.

The party held for Mayor Burgess was especially spirited. Supporters, family and friends of the two term incumbent came out to the Maple Street Grill Tuesday night to watch the election results and celebrate.

The race had been heated throughout the campaign and included several TV attack ads. At one point, challenger Jimmy Evans sent out a flier blaming Mayor Burgess for issues related to the Islamic center of Murfreesboro.

Despite the controversy, voting went smoothly across the county today. Officials with the Election Commission said more than 4,000 residents voted in the primary races.

Incumbent Robert Arnold took on challenger Bob Asbury in the Republican Primary Race for sheriff. 

Sheriff Arnold will now face former Rutherford County Sheriff’s Office School Resource Officer and Democratic Candidate Bill Kennedy in August.

Elsewhere in the county, incumbent Circuit Court Clerk Laura Bohling was defeated by Melissa Harrell, losing by less than 1,000 votes. Jennings H. Jones defeated Charles G. Ward to win the race for District Attorney General.

For a complete list of results, visit our NewsChannel 5 Election page