Las Vegas, NV (KTNV) -- Monday's accidental shooting death of a gun teacher by his 9-year-old student has sparked a controversial debate around the country.
Many are questioning the age at which a child should be allowed to handle a weapon.
The tragedy is not the first of its kind. In 2008, an 8-year-old Connecticut boy accidentally shot himself to death when his Uzi recoiled at a Massachusetts gun expo.
Clark County Shooting Complex told Action News they've been flooded with questions since this week's deadly accident that happened at the Last Stop gun range in Arizona.
At the county's shooting complex, the minimum age to shoot is 5-years-old and the child must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.
Shooting specialist Kip Rahmig told Action News that gun range age requirements are up to the discretion each facility.
In fact, he said there's no legislation in Nevada that sets a minimum age requirement for range shooting.
"There's no law that says that 5-years-old is the first [age at which] they can handle a firearm. It's up to the parents, It's up to the child," said Rahmig. He added the decision should be based upon the child and parent's knowledge of gun safety.