Weather Alerts 2 View »

Heisman Trophy goes to Florida State's Jameis Winston

Jameis Winston, quarterback of the Florida State Seminoles, speaks to the media during a press conference after the 2013 Heisman Trophy Presentation at the Marriott Marquis on December 14, 2013 in New York City. *** Local Caption *** Jameis Winston Photo: Image by Getty Images

Heisman Trophy goes to Florida State's Jameis Winston

By Phyllis Stark. CREATED Dec 15, 2013

Florida State's Jameis Winston has become the youngest player to win the Heisman Trophy in the 79 seasons that it has been awarded. Winston had been the front-runner for the prestigious college football award, which was given to him on Saturday.

ESPN.com reports that the 19-year-old Winston began his career at Florida State last year as the highest-rated quarterback recruit in the country and, this year, Winston led the nation in passing efficiency and quarterback rating.
"I am so overwhelmed right now," Winston said. "It feels great. ... I cannot explain the feeling that I have inside right now."
The Bessemer, Ala., native is the third player from the Birmingham area to win the Heisman, according to ESPN. The other two, quarterback Pat Sullivan (1971) and tailback Bo Jackson (1985), both played for Auburn.
Phyllis Stark

Phyllis Stark

Email Facebook Twitter
Phyllis Stark is the Digital Executive Producer - National Content for Journal Broadcast Group.